A Real Testimony Builder!

Dear Family:  I have to hand write another letter . . . We were supposed to get our e-mails set up but I don’t know what happened to that.  But the past two days have been a real testimony builder.  My first real day here, Thursday, was probably the longest day I have ever experienced!  I kept looking at my watch and just couldn’t focus like I wanted to.  I actually signed up for a tutor that will help me break apart scriptures to better understand them.  At about noon I had no idea how I was going to make it for another 2 years!  I was so scared and everything was hard for me and overwhelming.  My tutor then came to have a first visit, she really helped me and I easily could recognize my weakness and what I needed to work on.  I felt the spirit so strong bear witness to me that God will help me.  In 2 Timothy 1:7 it really opened my eyes to have more faith.  The rest of Thursday was still very scary, but it just felt right at the same time.  As I went to bed that night I prayed so hard to have a reassurance that what I learned today was true.  The next day, Friday, was amazing!  I felt so comfortable and calm.  I knew it was all true and that my prayers had been answered.  I know that when you ask God, he will answer your prayers and help you.  My companion, Elder Wright is pretty cool.  We get along well but I can see he is struggling to have that constant companionship of the spirit.  I am praying for him, and today, Saturday, he seems to really be doing well.  He is happy and we are working hard together.  I’ll get an e-mail out to you next Mom (Friday).  I loved the cookies!!! I only have a couple left.  The MTC food is okay . . . Breakfasts are horrible, but mainly because I can’t eat that early, but I love all the free power aid you can drink and the creamsicle ice cream!  Mom – I bought a new Preach my Gospel and got it laminated.  Mine was just too cluttered and annoyed me.  I really like planning out my entire day.  It makes it go so much faster and I actually work and study without distractions.  I lucked out with my residence room.  It is a four man but just my companion and I are in it.  Except the thermostat is broken and it is continually on at about 60 degrees.  It is awesome!  But when I wake up I am freezing.  First night I hardly slept, now I’m sleeping just fine.  I played volleyball once so far and it was a nightmare!  I probably won’t play much anymore . . . I can’t believe I have already been through 3 days but yet I still think I have two and a half weeks left here.  I don’t know how the language missionaries do it.  I just want to get out and serve people and bring them to Christ.  Keep me in your prayers!!!  I need it.  I can’t do it alone.  Can you send me Kelsey’s address so I can write her?  Oh yea!  So I found out that my mission now includes San Francisco area and my President will switch in a month!  It is just the heart of San Francisco — the north and south of it go to different missions.  My district members are fun and strong.  The 4 sisters are very fun.  Just imagine a bunch of Kelsey, Hidi, and Wobbs combined.  It’s fun!  Keep me in your prayers again and I’ll keep in touch.  Write me like crazy!  Love Brady

May 30, 2009

Dear Family:  I have to hand write another letter . . . We were supposed to get our e-mails set up but I don’t know what happened to that.  But the past two days have been a real testimony builder.  My first real day here, Thursday, was probably the longest day I have ever experienced!  I kept looking at my watch and just couldn’t focus like I wanted to.  I actually signed up for a class that will help me break apart scriptures to better understand them.  At about noon I had no idea how I was going to make it for another 2 years!  I was so scared and everything was so overwhelming.  Later, the class really helped me and I easily could recognize my weakness and what I needed to work on.  I felt the spirit so strong bear witness to me that God will help me.  In 2 Timothy 1:7 it really opened my eyes to have more faith.  The rest of Thursday was still very scary, but it just felt right at the same time.  As I went to bed that night I prayed so hard to have a reassurance that what I learned today was true.  The next day, Friday, was amazing!  I felt so comfortable and calm.  I knew it was all true and that my prayers had been answered.  I know that when you ask God, he will answer your prayers and help you.

My companion, Elder Wright is pretty cool.  We get along well but I can see he is struggling to have that constant companionship of the spirit.  I am praying for him, and today, Saturday, he seems to really be doing well.  He is happy and we are working hard together.  I’ll get an e-mail out to you next Mom (Friday).  I loved the cookies!!! I only have a couple left.  The MTC food is okay . . . Breakfasts are horrible, but mainly because I can’t eat that early, but I love all the free Power Aid you can drink and the creamsicle ice cream!

I bought a new Preach my Gospel and got it laminated.  Mine was just too cluttered and annoyed me.  I really like planning out my entire day.  It makes it go so much faster and I actually work and study without distractions.  I lucked out with my residence room.  It is a four man but just my companion and I are in it.  Except the thermostat is broken and it is continually on at about 60 degrees.  It is awesome!  But when I wake up I am freezing.  First night I hardly slept, now I’m sleeping just fine.  I played volleyball once so far and it was a nightmare!  I probably won’t play much anymore . . . I can’t believe I have already been through 3 days but yet I still think I have two and a half weeks left here.  I don’t know how the language missionaries do it.  I just want to get out and serve people and bring them to Christ.  Keep me in your prayers!!!  I need it.  I can’t do it alone.  Oh yea!  So I found out that my mission now includes San Francisco area and my President will switch in a month!  It is just the heart of San Francisco — the north and south of it go to different missions.  My district members are fun and strong.  The 4 sisters are very fun.  Just imagine a bunch of Kelsey, Hidi, and Wobbs combined.  It’s fun!  Keep me in your prayers again and I’ll keep in touch.  Write me like crazy!

Love Brady

~ by Susan Johnson on June 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
