I Had the Swine!!!

Hey one and all!
So today is my p-day and I’ll try to answer all of you questions if I can remember them all but I only have 30 minutes on the computer. so… the story behind the whole flu here at the MTC is that a total of 75 people have gotten it so far and I am one of the lucky ones who got it!! Haha — yeah you guys can make fun of me all you want but I know that I got it for a reason. and that reason is to humble me and make me realize that I’m not invincible! haha kind of funny really. I definitely think the Lord has a sense of humor! But the day I got sick was Tuesday and I felt sick when I woke up and was dry heaving in the morning but then I started to get chills and at the health clinic I had a temperature of 100, and I tested positive for Influenza A. The test that they do to see if you have the flu is so ridiculous! They shove a giant Q-tip up your
nose and probe at your brain. I heard people talk about it and when the doctor was there and about to go in to my massive nostrils, I told her to just make it fast. IT WAS THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE THING EVER!!! And when she pulled it out, my nose was bleeding and my eyes were watering and it was crazy! They then put one of the very stylish surgical masks on me until the test came back. So a long story short is that I had Influenza A and pretty much if you have had the flu shot and you get the flu than it is the swine because it has mutated and people can still get it. So they threw me into the quarantine and it was a nightmare! I had a lot of trials while in isolation. My patience was tried and I was going
insane. The first two days in isolation I was out cold in bed all day sleeping but after that I was up and able to move around and stuff. Once I was able to move around I felt great and I wasn’t even sick anymore. So it was frustrating to know that I was stuck in a hallway with all these sick people when I was fine. Pretty much the isolation place was just a residence hall and 4 people to a room and you are locked in the hallway you are assigned and they bring you food. While in there, there was no rules as far as sleeping and stuff which was annoying because people were up at 3 in the morning messing around… but this place was gross! There were 40 elders in one hall and it was absolutely trashed.
Soooooo grossss! The air was thick and hot. A kid in my room actually was up at Rockland Apartments in Rexburg and I knew him kind of so we became friends and so that was nice. But I did get a lot of studying done which I’m happy about so it was good. Once I got out Sunday morning was amazing. To actually be outside in fresh air was amazing. So that is the story of me becoming a swiner… I lucked out on my severeness of the swine. Some kids had to go home it was so bad!
Once I got back with Elder Wright, I felt behind and wasn’t feeling like I could catch up to all that I missed, but I just needed to keep putting one foot in front of the other and that is just what I did. I worked harder than before and noticed that I needed more than ever the Lords help. It’s kind of funny because everything happens for a reason right? haha I feel like I needed to go through this to help me realize some things and my weaknesses. So Monday was my first day to the R.C.
(Referral Center) and this is where you take calls and make calls to people and share with hem the gospel and stuff. This was definitely out of my comfort zone! I noticed all my District doing really well because they had a lot of practice while I was in isolation. It also didn’t help that the only person out of 25 calls answered and it was some lady from the south with the thickest accent ever! When I told her I was from the Church of Jesus Christ….. she absolutely flipped out on me and yelled, “BOY!!!!! I TOLD YOU NOT TO CALL ME!!!!” I swear I wet myself right there and didn’t know what to say… so I became discouraged and I was having a hard time. but one of my teachers noticed and she helped me
realize that I can’t be comparing myself to others and I need to only compare myself to myself. Also that I can’t do it alone and need the guidance of the Lord with me. But I absolutely love the RC now! I have had amazing contacts and especially with two ladies who are very nice and they want me to call them back just to talk to them and to keep them in their prayers. So I’m very excited now and absolutely loving the work!
Mom I can’t remember any of the questions you asked me but can you tell Colby this…  I am very thankful for your letter and it really helped me out that day. You are great Colby and I look up to you and
Tara so much, you really help me out and make me want to work harder. Good luck to you Colby on your contest thing. You are in my prayers as well as Tara. I’m sure you are excited to be done teaching. You two are in my prayers. Give this message to Riley– you should definitely take on the position of being captain. It’s not easy of course because you are responsible for the whole team and get punished if they mess up but you will be a good captain…. I got a letter from Kelsey and I wrote her back earlier today and it is exciting. I only have a couple more minutes until it kicks me off so I have to finish really fast. I hope you all are having fun at Coral Pink. You are all in my prayers. Mom can
you thank Jennifer for the letter for me! Also can you give me Jennifer’s address as well as Mikes address? Give them both this e-mail. I can’t email them but I can still receive and write them. One last thing- can you tell Mike to e-mail me Kristen Secor’s address? That would be awesome- thanks! I have a minute left and I just want to tell you all that I absolutely have grown sooooo much! it is awesome and I love it here. I have the greatest joy for this work and can’t wait to get out into Oakland. I know the church is true and I want to say more but I have no more time!!!!! Love you all. You are in my prayers and  please keep me in yours!
.

June 12, 2009

Hey one and all!

So today is my p-day and I’ll try to answer all of you questions if I can remember them all but I only have 30 minutes on the computer. so… the story behind the whole flu here at the MTC is that a total of 75 people have gotten it so far and I am one of the lucky ones who got it!! Haha — yeah you guys can make fun of me all you want but I know that I got it for a reason. and that reason is to humble me and make me realize that I’m not invincible! haha kind of funny really. I definitely think the Lord has a sense of humor! But the day I got sick was Tuesday and I felt sick when I woke up and was dry heaving in the morning but then I started to get chills and at the health clinic I had a temperature of 100, and I tested positive for Influenza A. The test that they do to see if you have the flu is so ridiculous! They shove a giant Q-tip up your nose and probe at your brain. I heard people talk about it and when the doctor was there and about to go in to my massive nostrils, I told her to just make it fast. IT WAS THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE THING EVER!!! And when she pulled it out, my nose was bleeding and my eyes were watering and it was crazy! They then put one of the very stylish surgical masks on me until the test came back. So a long story short is that I had Influenza A and pretty much if you have had the flu shot and you get the flu than it is the swine because it has mutated and people can still get it. So they threw me into the quarantine and it was a nightmare! I had a lot of trials while in isolation. My patience was tried and I was going insane. The first two days in isolation I was out cold in bed all day sleeping but after that I was up and able to move around and stuff. Once I was able to move around I felt great and I wasn’t even sick anymore. So it was frustrating to know that I was stuck in a hallway with all these sick people when I was fine. Pretty much the isolation place was just a residence hall and 4 people to a room and you are locked in the hallway you are assigned and they bring you food. While in there, there was no rules as far as sleeping and stuff which was annoying because people were up at 3 in the morning messing around… but this place was gross! There were 40 elders in one hall and it was absolutely trashed. Soooooo grossss! The air was thick and hot. A kid in my room actually was up at Rockland Apartments in Rexburg and I knew him kind of so we became friends and so that was nice. But I did get a lot of studying done which I’m happy about so it was good. Once I got out Sunday morning was amazing. To actually be outside in fresh air was amazing. So that is the story of me becoming a swiner… I lucked out on my severeness of the swine. Some kids had to go home it was so bad!

Once I got back with Elder Wright, I felt behind and wasn’t feeling like I could catch up to all that I missed, but I just needed to keep putting one foot in front of the other and that is just what I did. I worked harder than before and noticed that I needed more than ever the Lords help. It’s kind of funny because everything happens for a reason right? haha I feel like I needed to go through this to help me realize some things and my weaknesses. So Monday was my first day to the R.C. (Referral Center) and this is where you take calls and make calls to people and share with hem the gospel and stuff. This was definitely out of my comfort zone! I noticed all my District doing really well because they had a lot of practice while I was in isolation. It also didn’t help that the only person out of 25 calls answered and it was some lady from the south with the thickest accent ever! When I told her I was from the Church of Jesus Christ….. she absolutely flipped out on me and yelled, “BOY!!!!! I TOLD YOU NOT TO CALL ME!!!!” I swear I wet myself right there and didn’t know what to say… so I became discouraged and I was having a hard time. but one of my teachers noticed and she helped me realize that I can’t be comparing myself to others and I need to only compare myself to myself. Also that I can’t do it alone and need the guidance of the Lord with me. But I absolutely love the RC now! I have had amazing contacts and especially with two ladies who are very nice and they want me to call them back just to talk to them and to keep them in their prayers. So I’m very excited now and absolutely loving the work!

Mom I can’t remember any of the questions you asked me but can you tell Colby this…  I am very thankful for your letter and it really helped me out that day. You are great Colby and I look up to you and Tara so much, you really help me out and make me want to work harder. Good luck to you Colby on your contest thing. You are in my prayers as well as Tara. I’m sure you are excited to be done teaching. You two are in my prayers. Give this message to Riley– you should definitely take on the position of being captain. It’s not easy of course because you are responsible for the whole team and get punished if they mess up but you will be a good captain…. I got a letter from Kelsey and I wrote her back earlier today and it is exciting. I only have a couple more minutes until it kicks me off so I have to finish really fast. I hope you all are having fun at Coral Pink. You are all in my prayers. Mom can you thank Jennifer for the letter for me! Also can you give me Jennifer’s address as well as Mikes address? Give them both this e-mail. I can’t email them but I can still receive and write them. One last thing- can you tell Mike to e-mail me Kristen Secor’s address? That would be awesome- thanks! I have a minute left and I just want to tell you all that I absolutely have grown sooooo much! it is awesome and I love it here. I have the greatest joy for this work and can’t wait to get out into Oakland. I know the church is true and I want to say more but I have no more time!!!!! Love you all. You are in my prayers and  please keep me in yours!

Love, Brady

.

~ by Susan Johnson on June 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
