I’m in Isolation at the MTC (with the Flu!)

Update from Brady’s mom:  Apparently 2 days after we dropped Brady off at the MTC the Swine Flu broke out at the MTC forcing them to shut down families entering the MTC to bid farewell to their missionaries.  Brady’s group of missionaries were the last and final entrants to get their families inside the MTC and have the short program to send them off.  From that point on missionaries were to be dropped off at the curb by their families.  Then the following week after Brady entered the MTC I received a call from my Stake Executive Secretary informing me Brady had the flu!  I, of course, panicked and asked if it was the Swine.  He assured me it was not but wanted me to know he was put in isolation for 5 days.  Apparently the MTC was running rampant with the flu — swine and all sorts of other types.  I did not hear from Brady during this isolation period since he missed his p-day but finally we received the following note:

Hey mom! So this is my new e-mail. I missed my p-day on Friday because I was in the isolation which was a nightmare. Just a quick outline of my sickness… I had Influenza A which means that if you had the flu shot (which I did) and had influenza A, you have an 85% chance of having the swine. So I pretty much had the SWINE hahahahaha. (very humbling experience because I’m not invincible like I thought…) I don’t have much time to talk and got permission from my president to write you something fast to let you know I’m still ok! So my p-day is Fridays so expect e-mails that day….(well I guess just this Friday since I leave Wednesday). I got my flight plans so it’s coming up fast. I’m loving it here at the MTC and am growing so much. Sorry I can’t answer much questions now and I’ll go into more detail this Friday in the next e-mail. Thanks for the mail and packages. Keep them coming because it’s depressing when I go for a couple days without anything, like when I was sick, I had no way to talk to you and get mail. Well I have to go already. So this is me just telling you I’m alive and still working hard. I’ll try to answer all your questions Friday when I have time!
Love, Brady

Hey mom! So this is my new e-mail. I missed my p-day on Friday because I was in the isolation which was a nightmare. Just a quick outline of my sickness… I had Influenza A which means that if you had the flu shot (which I did) and had influenza A, you have an 85% chance of having the swine. So I pretty much had the SWINE hahahahaha. (very humbling experience because I’m not invincible like I thought…) I don’t have much time to talk and got permission from my president to write you something fast to let you know I’m still ok! So my p-day is Fridays so expect e-mails that day….(well I guess just this Friday since I leave Wednesday). I got my flight plans so it’s coming up fast. I’m loving it here at the MTC and am growing so much. Sorry I can’t answer much questions now and I’ll go into more detail this Friday in the next e-mail. Thanks for the mail and packages. Keep them coming because it’s depressing when I go for a couple days without anything, like when I was sick, I had no way to talk to you and get mail. Well I have to go already. So this is me just telling you I’m alive and still working hard. I’ll try to answer all your questions Friday when I have time!

Love, Brady


~ by Susan Johnson on June 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
