22 Missionaries Took over the Plane to Oakland! (I made it)

Hey one and all– Well my first week was crazy! But I absolutely love it. It is really hard though. I flew in Wednesday with a group of 22 others coming into Oakland and that was a cool experience — we basically took over the plane. But then we met up with the mission president and he is way cool. I love him already. We hit up In-n-Out Burger right away for lunch and then we hit the streets of Oakland for contacting. It was awesome! I was having so much fun and talking to people was amazing. Then we went to the mission home for some orientation stuff and dinner. That night we met our new trainers and my trainer is Elder Clark. He is way cool and we are definitely going to get along. I got assigned to Brentwood area and it is about 40 minutes away from the temple…. Sad, but that is ok. Brentwood is way cool. it is a good mix of both farm and a bit richer of an area. The reason why I say it is really hard is because Elder Clark is only 3 months out and he
is already training me and also we are shot-gunning the area, meaning that we are both brand new missionaries. And it is hard because we both don’t know the area and the missionaries before us left horrible records and the area book is a disaster so Elder Clark and I are working on organizing it a bit better. So we are just doing a lot of tracting and meeting with members and trying to meet less actives. So that is what we have been doing for the past week really. I am in a car and we are assigned to two wards. One of them is a singles ward so our area is the entire stake so we can go anywhere pretty much. It is really beautiful out here and really hot! We were tracting in 93 degrees one day. My
favorite experience so far is when we were tracting, we ran into a guy who took lessons from missionaries in the past but they dropped him and as we were talking to him it came apparent why really fast. He was just one of those guys that try to rip your testimony apart and I was trying so hard not to laugh at some of the things he was saying and if anything it makes me realize how blessed I am to have the testimony I do. But this guy was crazy I think and wouldn’t even let us get in a single word and was mocking us the whole time I think. And then he followed us down the street continuing to try to explain to him stuff that he would just turn back on us… totally not worth it. So that was fun. But then
later down that road we ran into a guy who is a “golden” investigator! just way nice and really interested in the gospel. He is muslim and has an amazing family and I can’t wait to teach him next week at our appointment. Some days are discouraging though because we are trying to work so hard but nobody ever lets us in and stuff but everyday is a humbling experience because I try my best to practice patience and it seems that the very end of the day we see the blessings and all goes well and people start to listen to us and let us in. I have yet to teach a full lesson yet just because we are trying to figure out the area and the people…. but I will get the hang of it soon.
Mondays are my p-day so that is when I can e-mail. My address is just the mission home. Just send it there and they forward it to me. I love you all and thank you for all the support you have given me! The church is true! Let me know how Riley’s CA tourney went if its not in the other e-mail I haven’t read yet…. keep me in your prays too please!
Love, Brady

Hey one and all–

Well my first week was crazy! But I absolutely love it. It is really hard though. I flew in Wednesday with a group of 22 others coming into Oakland and that was a cool experience — we basically took over the plane. But then we met up with the mission president and he is way cool. I love him already. We hit up In-n-Out Burger right away for lunch and then we hit the streets of Oakland for contacting. It was awesome! I was having so much fun and talking to people was amazing. Then we went to the mission home for some orientation stuff and dinner. That night we met our new trainers and my trainer is Elder Clark. He is way cool and we are definitely going to get along. I got assigned to Brentwood area and it is about 40 minutes away from the temple…. Sad, but that is ok. Brentwood is way cool. it is a good mix of both farm and a bit richer of an area. The reason why I say it is really hard is because Elder Clark is only 3 months out and he is already training me and also we are shot-gunning the area, meaning that we are both brand new missionaries. And it is hard because we both don’t know the area and the missionaries before us left horrible records and the area book is a disaster so Elder Clark and I are working on organizing it a bit better. So we are just doing a lot of tracting and meeting with members and trying to meet less actives. So that is what we have been doing for the past week really. I am in a car and we are assigned to two wards. One of them is a singles ward so our area is the entire stake so we can go anywhere pretty much. It is really beautiful out here and really hot! We were tracting in 93 degrees one day. My favorite experience so far is when we were tracting, we ran into a guy who took lessons from missionaries in the past but they dropped him and as we were talking to him it came apparent why really fast. He was just one of those guys that try to rip your testimony apart and I was trying so hard not to laugh at some of the things he was saying and if anything it makes me realize how blessed I am to have the testimony I do. But this guy was crazy I think and wouldn’t even let us get in a single word and was mocking us the whole time I think. And then he followed us down the street continuing to try to explain to him stuff that he would just turn back on us… totally not worth it. So that was fun. But then later down that road we ran into a guy who is a “golden” investigator! just way nice and really interested in the gospel. He is muslim and has an amazing family and I can’t wait to teach him next week at our appointment. Some days are discouraging though because we are trying to work so hard but nobody ever lets us in and stuff but everyday is a humbling experience because I try my best to practice patience and it seems that the very end of the day we see the blessings and all goes well and people start to listen to us and let us in. I have yet to teach a full lesson yet just because we are trying to figure out the area and the people…. but I will get the hang of it soon.

Mondays are my p-day so that is when I can e-mail. My address is just the mission home. Just send it there and they forward it to me. I love you all and thank you for all the support you have given me! The church is true! Let me know how Riley’s CA tourney went if its not in the other e-mail I haven’t read yet…. keep me in your prays too please!

Love, Brady

For anyone interested in writing to Brady the address is:

Elder Brady Johnson

California Oakland Mission

4945 Lincoln Way

Oakland, CA  94602

~ by Susan Johnson on June 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
