The Rollercoaster Ride of a Missionary

Thank you all so much for you love and concerns. The work continues here in Brentwood. All is well with me. I can’t believe how fast the time has flown by and I am already on my third week of the second transfer. Now that I have been here for a while I finally am getting down the roads and the names of all the members. Working with them is really fun but a big challenge at times to get them motivated to get the work going. If missionaries ever come over to your house you better take care of them and give them a referral! This work is too important to hold back the people you know to introduce them to the true gospel of Jesus Christ.
Times are scary because I come into so much contact with people here that are really struggling with the current economy and how it has really affected them.  It is sad to see it get to the point that they are blaming it all on God and they are distancing themselves from the church and becoming less active – it is a really tricky situation to be working with them and I want them so badly to come back to the gospel but it is hard not to offend them.  But the best thing that we can be doing in this economy is only coming closer to Christ and to do those basic things such as pray and read the scriptures.  I know that God will bless our lives and look out for us in all situations.
This week has been a memorable one. It seems like I am on this rollercoaster and some days are just amazing and we find people to teach and others are just absolutely dead and we can’t talk to anybody and the work is so slow. Well this week was like the very bottom of this rollercoaster. For 3 days we had every appointment fall through (about 10) we were so excited to have that many but as we showed up, none of them went through. So as you can imagine I was very frustrated and didn’t understand why this was. But just yesterday we found an investigator and were able to take her to a fireside called “why I believe”. It is where recent converts that just got baptized speak on their conversion stories and it was so powerful and our investigator loved it and we got to walk up and around the temple and the spirit was so strong and I can’t wait to continue teaching her tonight. That is pretty much it for this week. Nothing really happened…. I am working really hard and each day I am absolutely burnt out and I just crash at night. I have been growing everyday and my testimony is only becoming more firm. I love you all and you are always in my prayers.
Love, Elder Johnson
PS: Mom – thanks for sending the package to me. I haven’t picked it up yet though. It can’t be sent to my apartment because we aren’t allowed to get packages here. So continue sending to the mission home.
.

Thank you all so much for you love and concerns. The work continues here in Brentwood. All is well with me. I can’t believe how fast the time has flown by and I am already on my third week of the second transfer. Now that I have been here for a while I finally am getting down the roads and the names of all the members. Working with them is really fun but a big challenge at times to get them motivated to get the work going. If missionaries ever come over to your house you better take care of them and give them a referral! This work is too important to hold back the people you know to introduce them to the true gospel of Jesus Christ.

Times are scary because I come into so much contact with people here that are really struggling with the current economy and how it has really affected them.  It is sad to see it get to the point that they are blaming it all on God and they are distancing themselves from the church and becoming less active – it is a really tricky situation to be working with them and I want them so badly to come back to the gospel but it is hard not to offend them.  But the best thing that we can be doing in this economy is only coming closer to Christ and to do those basic things such as pray and read the scriptures.  I know that God will bless our lives and look out for us in all situations.

This week has been a memorable one. It seems like I am on this rollercoaster and some days are just amazing and we find people to teach and others are just absolutely dead and we can’t talk to anybody and the work is so slow. Well this week was like the very bottom of this rollercoaster. For 3 days we had every appointment fall through (about 10) we were so excited to have that many but as we showed up, none of them went through. So as you can imagine I was very frustrated and didn’t understand why this was. But just yesterday we found an investigator and were able to take her to a fireside called “why I believe”. It is where recent converts that just got baptized speak on their conversion stories and it was so powerful and our investigator loved it and we got to walk up and around the temple and the spirit was so strong and I can’t wait to continue teaching her tonight. That is pretty much it for this week. Nothing really happened…. I am working really hard and each day I am absolutely burnt out and I just crash at night. I have been growing everyday and my testimony is only becoming more firm. I love you all and you are always in my prayers.

Love, Elder Johnson

PS: Mom – thanks for sending the package to me. I haven’t picked it up yet though. It can’t be sent to my apartment because we aren’t allowed to get packages here. So continue sending to the mission home.

.

~ by Susan Johnson on August 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
