This Scary Family could Eat Me Alive!

Editors Note: This was Part 2 of last weeks letter.
Just some awesome things that happened this week where I know that the Lord is looking out for me. A lot of miracles are happening. Just the other day we go to visit this less active guy that we felt like we should visit. Across the street was a family moving. This family was really scary looking and had tattoos all over and they had 11 kids from 16-30 and all their kids looked like they could eat me. But I felt like I should go see if they needed help moving. At first it was scary and they harassed Elder Clark and I for a bit but come to find out they were once investigating the church a while back and lost contact with the
missionaries. So we randomly found this awesome family. They are so funny and like to joke around with us but its cool. And we found another lady who was once given a Book of Mormon and was wondering what religion it was so we are going to go teach her this coming week. I’m really excited and all these little miracles are happening. We went tracting for about 15 minutes and in that time we knocked on 7 doors and 5 of them have return appointments. So it’s really going well.
Church was amazing yesterday. The members are so solid and one ward that I am in is hilarious. This black lady from Oakland bears her testimony every week and she is a hoot, and at the same time really knows how to bring back the spirit with such power. She said probably the funniest things I have ever heard in my life. She was talking about her family and how when she got baptized her family didn’t like it and disowned her, so she starting joking around and said, “why can’t we just kill them all and do baptisms for the dead?” and she screamed it over the pulpit. Oh man I was trying so hard not to laugh but I couldn’t help it – it was awesome! So the members are way cool and are really friendly to us and we get fed way too much and we get all the freshest produce because there are so many farmlands out here.
Oh I am so embarrassed! The other night we are visiting this family and I get asked to say the closing prayer and I thought I knew the families name so I blessed them in the prayer with the name I thought they were….. but it wasn’t, and I feel so dumb and they probably think I’m retarded but whatever. I feel so dumb about it still. That was the worst part of my week, hahaha.
Thanks for all the love! Families are amazing to me and I am so blessed to be in a loving home where the priesthood power is honored. And to have the best mom in the world! And my siblings are the best example ever to me! I love you all and you are always in my prayers.
Love, Elder Johnson
PS: When does Mike leave? Tell him to write me before he leaves. I sent him a letter, did he get it? I haven’t gotten snail mail in like 4 weeks  so send me some love!
.

Editors Note: This was Part 2 of last weeks letter.

Just some awesome things that happened this week where I know that the Lord is looking out for me. A lot of miracles are happening. Just the other day we go to visit this less active guy that we felt like we should visit. Across the street was a family moving. This family was really scary looking and had tattoos all over and they had 11 kids from 16-30 and all their kids looked like they could eat me. But I felt like I should go see if they needed help moving. At first it was scary and they harassed Elder Clark and I for a bit but come to find out they were once investigating the church a while back and lost contact with the missionaries. So we randomly found this awesome family. They are so funny and like to joke around with us but its cool. And we found another lady who was once given a Book of Mormon and was wondering what religion it was so we are going to go teach her this coming week. I’m really excited and all these little miracles are happening. We went tracting for about 15 minutes and in that time we knocked on 7 doors and 5 of them have return appointments. So it’s really going well.

Church was amazing yesterday. The members are so solid and one ward that I am in is hilarious. This black lady from Oakland bears her testimony every week and she is a hoot, and at the same time really knows how to bring back the spirit with such power. She said probably the funniest things I have ever heard in my life. She was talking about her family and how when she got baptized her family didn’t like it and disowned her, so she starting joking around and said, “why can’t we just kill them all and do baptisms for the dead?” and she screamed it over the pulpit. Oh man I was trying so hard not to laugh but I couldn’t help it – it was awesome! So the members are way cool and are really friendly to us and we get fed way too much and we get all the freshest produce because there are so many farmlands out here.

Oh I am so embarrassed! The other night we are visiting this family and I get asked to say the closing prayer and I thought I knew the families name so I blessed them in the prayer with the name I thought they were….. but it wasn’t, and I feel so dumb and they probably think I’m retarded but whatever. I feel so dumb about it still. That was the worst part of my week, hahaha.

Thanks for all the love! Families are amazing to me and I am so blessed to be in a loving home where the priesthood power is honored. And to have the best mom in the world! And my siblings are the best example ever to me! I love you all and you are always in my prayers.

Love, Elder Johnson

PS: When does Mike leave? Tell him to write me before he leaves. I sent him a letter, did he get it? I haven’t gotten snail mail in like 4 weeks  so send me some love!

.

~ by Colby Johnson on August 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
