Even Hardened Hearts can be Converted!

Editors Note:  Brady’s letter from last week and this week didn’t arrive by e-mail until Wednesday for some reason.  So the next two posts are new!
So I guess you didn’t get my letter last week for some reason. It said that there was some “fatal error” and that it couldn’t get sent to your email…. I’m not sure what is up with that, but here is my last weeks letter.
I love hearing from you, and how festive your weeks sound. I wish I could even remember everything that goes on and share some experiences – but so much happens and I have a hard time remembering everything good in the week… haha. but yesterday was probably my favorite day out here. Elder Clark and I were just filled with the spirit so strong and we were excited about the day. We had the most incredible visit with this recent convert from Oakland – (just imagine a 23 year old black kid that is ripped and has tatoos over his body and dropped out of school when he was 14 – just a crazy, drug filled background) but this guy is awesome. His conversion story brought me to tears as he shared it. He had a story much like Alma 36. He got into a car accident and while in a coma he saw the truth and that he had to find this true church. Just an amazing story and I can see that his life has completely changed since he found the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. He has changed everything around and he is starting college today and is making improvements that come as a direct blessing from the gospel of Jesus Christ. He strengthened my testimony so much. And then we had a lesson on temples and the work that goes on in them and it was the most powerful lesson we have had so far. After that we were able to get in contact with an investigator we lost contact with for the past week. We found his need and taught directly from guidance from the Holy Ghost. I don’t even know what I was saying but it turned out to be amazing and I was just so happy last night. I know that this church is true and that when we live the gospel it will directly effect our lives for the better and we will see the blessings that come from living it! Oh it is so great! Earlier this week we were able to take an investigating girl to this fireside that they hold up at the temple. She loved the whole experience and she fell in love with the temple. We are currently teaching her and she is progressing very well.
This Sunday I am giving a talk in church for the singles ward about member missionary work. I am absolutely terrified because I want it to be powerful so that the members can start helping us more! We really need the singles wards help because its not like we can go and knock doors and find young single adult investigators…. and I’m going to try it a new way where instead of writing my whole talk out, it is going to be just bullet points and I’m just going to let the spirit guide, haha it may be good, it may be bad. I already have it mostly prepared, (yeah I know, for a first I haven’t procrastinated, let that be a lesson to you Riley about your biology class!) So I’ll let you know how it goes next Monday. Keep me in your prayers, I have so many weaknesses and I can realize them every moment of the day. It is so great to be able to practice the atonement and I am so thankful for the joy that it brings into my life. I love you all and look forward to hearing from you all again soon.
PS: I got the package mom, thank you so much. PSS just a little funny story mom. Elder Clark and I love to have fun! haha and I always tease him about how cautious of driver he is – he has the title in the mission as “grandma” because he is such a slow driver. But anyway, every time he is pulling out onto a busy road when cars are coming by, he takes so long to get out, even if a car is way down the road he waits for it to pass. And I tell him, “you could have gone 572 times!!!!!” haha the first time I said it, he didn’t say much, but the second time I said it, he was like, “man! why do you always say the number 572?!?!?!” haha so I explained to him about how you mom say it a lot and it was just funny how he caught on even the second time I said it! Thought it was a funny story. PSSS mom can you get me a list of addresses? I never get mail and I don’t have anybody’s addresses to even write to. Can I get all the family’s addresses like grandma and the Johnsons and Beckstrands and Ballards and stuff? That would be awesome. Can you also get me mikes address in the MTC? and can you get me Alden’s address? You can just call somebody down in Tucson from the ward and probably get it.. just get me a list of addresses you think I would want. Thank you.
Love, Brady
Editors Note:  As you can read he needs letters from you family members — so I’ll do my part in sending him addresses, if you’ll drop him a note once in a while.  He would love and appreciate it.

So I guess you didn’t get my letter last week for some reason. It said that there was some “fatal error” and that it couldn’t get sent to your email…. I’m not sure what is up with that, but here is my last weeks letter.

I love hearing from you, and how festive your weeks sound. I wish I could even remember everything that goes on and share some experiences – but so much happens and I have a hard time remembering everything good in the week… haha. but yesterday was probably my favorite day out here. Elder Clark and I were just filled with the spirit so strong and we were excited about the day. We had the most incredible visit with this recent convert from Oakland – (just imagine a 23 year old black kid that is ripped and has tatoos over his body and dropped out of school when he was 14 – just a crazy, drug filled background) but this guy is awesome. His conversion story brought me to tears as he shared it. He had a story much like Alma 36. He got into a car accident and while in a coma he saw the truth and that he had to find this true church. Just an amazing story and I can see that his life has completely changed since he found the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. He has changed everything around and he is starting college today and is making improvements that come as a direct blessing from the gospel of Jesus Christ. He strengthened my testimony so much. And then we had a lesson on temples and the work that goes on in them and it was the most powerful lesson we have had so far. After that we were able to get in contact with an investigator we lost contact with for the past week. We found his need and taught directly from guidance from the Holy Ghost. I don’t even know what I was saying but it turned out to be amazing and I was just so happy last night. I know that this church is true and that when we live the gospel it will directly effect our lives for the better and we will see the blessings that come from living it! Oh it is so great! Earlier this week we were able to take an investigating girl to this fireside that they hold up at the temple. She loved the whole experience and she fell in love with the temple. We are currently teaching her and she is progressing very well.

This Sunday I am giving a talk in church for the singles ward about member missionary work. I am absolutely terrified because I want it to be powerful so that the members can start helping us more! We really need the singles wards help because its not like we can go and knock doors and find young single adult investigators…. and I’m going to try it a new way where instead of writing my whole talk out, it is going to be just bullet points and I’m just going to let the spirit guide, haha it may be good, it may be bad. I already have it mostly prepared, (yeah I know, for a first I haven’t procrastinated, let that be a lesson to you Riley about your biology class!) So I’ll let you know how it goes next Monday. Keep me in your prayers, I have so many weaknesses and I can realize them every moment of the day. It is so great to be able to practice the atonement and I am so thankful for the joy that it brings into my life. I love you all and look forward to hearing from you all again soon.

PS: I got the package mom, thank you so much. PSS just a little funny story mom. Elder Clark and I love to have fun! haha and I always tease him about how cautious of driver he is – he has the title in the mission as “grandma” because he is such a slow driver. But anyway, every time he is pulling out onto a busy road when cars are coming by, he takes so long to get out, even if a car is way down the road he waits for it to pass. And I tell him, “you could have gone 572 times!!!!!” haha the first time I said it, he didn’t say much, but the second time I said it, he was like, “man! why do you always say the number 572?!?!?!” haha so I explained to him about how you mom say it a lot and it was just funny how he caught on even the second time I said it! Thought it was a funny story. PSSS mom can you get me a list of addresses? I never get mail and I don’t have anybody’s addresses to even write to. Can I get all the family’s addresses like grandma and the Johnsons and Beckstrands and Ballards and stuff? That would be awesome. Can you also get me mikes address in the MTC? and can you get me Alden’s address? You can just call somebody down in Tucson from the ward and probably get it.. just get me a list of addresses you think I would want. Thank you.

Love, Brady

Editors Note:  As you can read he needs letters from you family members and friends — so I’ll do my part in sending him addresses, if you’ll drop him a note once in a while.  He would love and appreciate it.

~ by Susan Johnson on August 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
