This One Event Started to Destroy Me!

(Sept. 7,2009) So this week has been one of the most eventful weeks of my mission! I have grown so much from what happened to me this week and I know that I will grow from the news that I got about my transfer.
First off I don’t know what is up with the whole email thing. It is probably AOL that you are using mom, you should get a new e-mail!!! I have been emailing each week and they have been getting to other people just fine. That is cool to hear that Riley is a stud still with a strong testimony. And the whole volleyball thing is wack, Riley could play 18 open! That is cool to hear that you delayed sacrament meeting mom, good job. Haha just kidding – that is awesome to hear that you bore your testimony! My favorite scripture for this past week actually goes
along with you mom. It is in Alma 56 where it is talking about the strength of the 2000 Stripling Warriors and how they got their strength from their mothers! Well you only have two strippling warriors but I know that I have been taught my mother very well and I am thankful for you mom. (Read Alma 56!)
So I will tell you about the awesome thing that happened to me this week! So we get this one new kid to be an investigator. He is 18 and his name is Mark. He is Catholic and he is really solid and religion has played a huge role in his life. So we were talking and it is going well and he turns to me and asks me, so why are you out here Elder Johnson. Well I know why I’m out here so I told him. So he was like OK, and then he asks my companion the same. Elder Clark goes off on his big impressive conversion story. Well…. Mark then turned to me and was like, “Elder Johnson, I don’t want to offend you, but I think you need to pray more, I think you don’t know why you are out here. I can just feel that you don’t mean it like Elder Clark. I don’t see it in your eyes when you are telling me what you believe” ……..I know right! It was crazy and my heart just started racing and I didn’t know what to say and I started to doubt my own testimony for a second and I was sweating and ahhhhh it was awful! This one event started to destroyed me. I thought about what he said after we quickly ended right there (because the spirit was no longer with us.) and it was just boring at me. I starting to really wonder why I was out here serving the Lord in which I love so much. Well I got down on my knees and I said a simple prayer. Never before have I been so strengthened in my life. I felt so reassured of what I was doing out here. I felt so confident in my own testimony and I came to the conclusion that a testimony cannot be compared to another persons. No I don’t have any big conversion story where I was on my death bed, but what I do have is a lifetime full of blessings that I can look back on and see the hand of the Lord blessing me in everything. I know why I am out here and that I am to share the message I hold so dear to my heart about the restoration of the gospel that Jesus Christ set up. I know these things to be true and I am so happy that I have been born in the covenant of this church, and to be sealed to my family. So I know now, better than ever why I am out here. Mark really strengthened my testimony. I also got chastised by the spirit for not being sincere when I give my testimony. I tried to be a man about stuff and to hold back the water works when sharing it. But I am just
going to let it go and be as sincere as I can to show the people that I care.
Now the news about my transfer call situation!!! haha so I get a call from President Wade. And that is strange because he doesn’t usually call the missionaries personally. Well we had a nice chat and he told me of the situation that I am in. He told me that he is giving me a great responsibility. So I started to get scared of what that was. He told me that I was going to be senior companion, so I immediately thought I was going to train which scared me! But then he continued to tell me how my companion has been out for just under 2 years and that I am most likely going to be killing him off here in good old Brentwood (Elder Clark is going to San Francisco). The President told me that he trusts me enough to give me this Elder because I will make him work. (ha and you better
believe it too) but his name is Elder Finau (fee-now) he is from the kingdom of Tonga and I meet him tomorrow. I am so excited but at the same time I know that I have to depend on the Lord so much to strengthen this missionary. I’m sure he won’t be that bad but I have some ideas of what I am to do so that he and I can work as hard as we can and to improve this area. So I’ll keep you updated next week on how it has gone so far. That is all for me, I love you all and I can’t wait to hear from you all soon.
Elder Johnson

(Sept. 7,2009) So this week has been one of the most eventful weeks of my mission! I have grown so much from what happened to me this week and I know that I will grow from the news that I got about my transfer. First off I don’t know what is up with the whole email thing. It is probably AOL that you are using mom, you should get a new e-mail!!! I have been emailing each week and they have been getting to other people just fine. That is cool to hear that Riley is a stud still with a strong testimony. And the whole volleyball thing is wack, Riley could play 18 open! That is cool to hear that you delayed sacrament meeting mom, good job. Haha just kidding – that is awesome to hear that you bore your testimony! My favorite scripture for this past week actually goes along with you mom. It is in Alma 56 where it is talking about the strength of the 2000 Stripling Warriors and how they got their strength from their mothers! Well you only have two strippling warriors but I know that I have been taught my mother very well and I am thankful for you mom. (Read Alma 56!)

So I will tell you about the awesome thing that happened to me this week! So we get this one new kid to be an investigator. He is 18 and his name is Mark. He is Catholic and he is really solid and religion has played a huge role in his life. So we were talking and it is going well and he turns to me and asks me, so why are you out here Elder Johnson. Well I know why I’m out here so I told him. So he was like OK, and then he asks my companion the same. Elder Clark goes off on his big impressive conversion story. Well…. Mark then turned to me and was like, “Elder Johnson, I don’t want to offend you, but I think you need to pray more, I think you don’t know why you are out here. I can just feel that you don’t mean it like Elder Clark. I don’t see it in your eyes when you are telling me what you believe” ……..I know right! It was crazy and my heart just started racing and I didn’t know what to say and I started to doubt my own testimony for a second and I was sweating and ahhhhh it was awful! This one event started to destroy me. I thought about what he said after we quickly ended right there (because the spirit was no longer with us.) and it was just boring at me. I starting to really wonder why I was out here serving the Lord in which I love so much. Well I got down on my knees and I said a simple prayer. Never before have I been so strengthened in my life. I felt so reassured of what I was doing out here. I felt so confident in my own testimony and I came to the conclusion that a testimony cannot be compared to another persons. No I don’t have any big conversion story where I was on my death bed, but what I do have is a lifetime full of blessings that I can look back on and see the hand of the Lord blessing me in everything. I know why I am out here and that I am to share the message I hold so dear to my heart about the restoration of the gospel that Jesus Christ set up. I know these things to be true and I am so happy that I have been born in the covenant of this church, and to be sealed to my family. So I know now, better than ever why I am out here. Mark really strengthened my testimony. I also got chastised by the spirit for not being sincere when I give my testimony. I tried to be a man about stuff and to hold back the water works when sharing it. But I am just going to let it go and be as sincere as I can to show the people that I care.

Now the news about my transfer call situation!!! haha so I get a call from President Wade. And that is strange because he doesn’t usually call the missionaries personally. Well we had a nice chat and he told me of the situation that I am in. He told me that he is giving me a great responsibility. So I started to get scared of what that was. He told me that I was going to be senior companion, so I immediately thought I was going to train which scared me! But then he continued to tell me how my companion has been out for just under 2 years and that I am most likely going to be killing him off here in good old Brentwood (Elder Clark is going to San Francisco). The President told me that he trusts me enough to give me this Elder because I will make him work. (ha and you better believe it too) but his name is Elder Finau (fee-now) he is from the kingdom of Tonga and I meet him tomorrow. I am so excited but at the same time I know that I have to depend on the Lord so much to strengthen this missionary. I’m sure he won’t be that bad but I have some ideas of what I am to do so that he and I can work as hard as we can and to improve this area. So I’ll keep you updated next week on how it has gone so far. That is all for me, I love you all and I can’t wait to hear from you all soon.

Elder Johnson

~ by Susan Johnson on September 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
