I Knew Him in Pre-Earth Life!

Sept. 28, 2009) I’ve now caught some CA lingo — everybody out here says hecka and unfortunately I am starting to say it too…. but everything is cool with me. I am having a great time out here and am working very hard. I had to make up for the last week I had from being sick all week and so Elder Finau and I worked extra hard. We are getting along very well now and it is really showing. I have a way cool experience this week. since my companion and I are working a lot better together. Our numbers of lessons absolutely shot through the roof! When we called in our weekly numbers we actually got a call back from the zone leaders and they were trying to tell us we aren’t doing numbers right since they were that good! But things are going great. Our pool of investigators doubled this week and they are all progressing so nicely. We tried to get a baptismal date last night but he just needs a bit more time, but he is so close I can feel it. And then there is a guy named Jonathan that we just started teaching this week. His background is that he is from Vegas and he “wants to start over in life” so he is currently living with an amazing member family that is helping in fellowshipping him. He is on fire and we are going to the visitors center this next week to watch the Joseph Smith movie. I had a cool experience because ever since the first time that I met Jonathan, I felt like I already knew him. He looked so familiar and his personality just felt like I knew him already and I’m so comfortable around him. It is weird but my companion and I were talking about it and he feels the same way about it. So I then make the comment that we probably knew him in the pre-earth life… Well when we were teaching him that night we were talking about the plan of salvation and my companion started to tell him about how we were talking about it. He stopped us right there and said that he was thinking the exact same thing and it was a really cool experience! So I’ll keep you updated with him.
I love the area I’m in right now. The members are awesome and really take care of us and it is festive! I have such a love for this work and it is really fun. I’m not worried about the distractions of life and I really like the lifestyle of a missionary. This past week was zone conference. I feel soooooo bad because come to find out, I was supposed to be “randomly” selected to give a 5 minute talk on a given subject in front of everybody. Well….. we got stuck in traffic and were way late to zone conference and my companion and I walked in right when I was supposed to be speaking. Ugh – it was no good! I felt so bad. But good news is, President Hinckley wasn’t able to make it so I guess I got kind of lucky! But the whole conference was on how to use the Book of Mormon as evidence of Joseph Smith and it was very powerful. We apply what we learned to our teaching and I can notice the spirit even stronger – so it is good.
Thank you all for writing me. Good luck with the next week for all of you. I pray for you every night.. probably the thing most that I have learned while being on my mission so far (among a bazillion things!) is to not forget the important things in life. There are so many distractions that the world makes you think that they aren’t a distractions. But boy oh boy they are! Just remember to do the simple things that only bring you closer to our Heavenly Father. Much love.
Elder J

Sept. 28, 2009) I’ve now caught some CA lingo — everybody out here says hecka and unfortunately I am starting to say it too…. but everything is cool with me. I am having a great time out here and am working very hard. I had to make up for the last week I had from being sick all week and so Elder Finau and I worked extra hard. We are getting along very well now and it is really showing. I have a way cool experience this week. since my companion and I are working a lot better together. Our numbers of lessons absolutely shot through the roof! When we called in our weekly numbers we actually got a call back from the zone leaders and they were trying to tell us we aren’t doing numbers right since they were that good! But things are going great. Our pool of investigators doubled this week and they are all progressing so nicely. We tried to get a baptismal date last night but he just needs a bit more time, but he is so close I can feel it. And then there is a guy named Jonathan that we just started teaching this week. His background is that he is from Vegas and he “wants to start over in life” so he is currently living with an amazing member family that is helping in fellowshipping him. He is on fire and we are going to the visitors center this next week to watch the Joseph Smith movie. I had a cool experience because ever since the first time that I met Jonathan, I felt like I already knew him. He looked so familiar and his personality just felt like I knew him already and I’m so comfortable around him. It is weird but my companion and I were talking about it and he feels the same way about it. So I then make the comment that we probably knew him in the pre-earth life… Well when we were teaching him that night we were talking about the plan of salvation and my companion started to tell him about how we were talking about it. He stopped us right there and said that he was thinking the exact same thing and it was a really cool experience! So I’ll keep you updated with him.

I love the area I’m in right now. The members are awesome and really take care of us and it is festive! I have such a love for this work and it is really fun. I’m not worried about the distractions of life and I really like the lifestyle of a missionary. This past week was zone conference. I feel soooooo bad because come to find out, I was supposed to be “randomly” selected to give a 5 minute talk on a given subject in front of everybody. Well….. we got stuck in traffic and were way late to zone conference and my companion and I walked in right when I was supposed to be speaking. Ugh – it was no good! I felt so bad. But good news is, President Hinckley wasn’t able to make it so I guess I got kind of lucky! But the whole conference was on how to use the Book of Mormon as evidence of Joseph Smith and it was very powerful. We apply what we learned to our teaching and I can notice the spirit even stronger – so it is good.

Thank you all for writing me. Good luck with the next week for all of you. I pray for you every night.. probably the thing most that I have learned while being on my mission so far (among a bazillion things!) is to not forget the important things in life. There are so many distractions that the world makes you think that they aren’t a distractions. But boy oh boy they are! Just remember to do the simple things that only bring you closer to our Heavenly Father. Much love.

Elder J

~ by Susan Johnson on October 1, 2009.

One Response to “I Knew Him in Pre-Earth Life!”

  1. Hey Brady – sorry i’ve neglected leaving a comment for so long. But it sure is awesome and humbling to read yours and I am sooo happy that you are happy and doing such a fabulous job. Hear anything from Andrew Wright ever? I hear he is doing great. Sending love and prayers always.

Leave a Reply

 
