I Am Still Giddy from the Spiritual Overload of Conference!

This week was absolutely awesome! So I don’t remember if I told you in my last email but Elder Finau, my companion and I were at this wedding reception for these two people that were in our singles ward and they had a pig that they were serving that they roasted. Since Elder Finau is Tongan, he got put in charge of cutting up the pig. So at the end and when we were going home, they let us have the head of the pig. So we got home and we ate it. It was soooo good. I ate the brain and the eyes and it was good so I am getting a lot of weird food out here. And then during general conference on Sunday the Tongan ward invited us to have lunch with them and I don’t think I have ever eaten so much in my life. I had no idea what on earth I was eating but it was just mounded upon my plate. Tongan food is really bland and I realized how spoiled I have been with dads cooking!
This week has flown by. I was looking forward to conference every day this week and when it finally came I couldn’t even control my excitement! Saturday we went to Jonathans (that one investigator who is awesome) and watched it with him. He absolutely loved it and then we had lunch over there and taught him another lesson and then he committed to baptism! He is so ready and is so excited. So his date is the 10th. Haha – He told us he wants us to move faster with the lessons because he wants to be baptized as soon as possible. So that is really exciting. Then we stuck around and watched the afternoon session with him. Then priesthood session rolled around and it was absolutely amazing! On Sunday Elder Finau wanted to listen to it in Tongan so we went to the Tongan ward (I watched it in English though) like I said, we then got a feast of all feasts! Way bigger than any Thanksgiving I have ever had. And then more conference! I absolutely loved Elder Holland’s talk, along with everybody else! So powerful and bold. And I also liked the “ity” talk – I don’t remember who by though. So I am still all giddy from the spiritual overload of conference! It is crazy how conference was based totally off of love and service. I just loved those warm fuzzies of service. Earlier this week a members house burnt down so I was able to help clean up everything. It is crazy how a little toaster started such a big fire and that it could happen to anybody.  Also this week we went to the Visitor’s Center up at the temple with two investigators and they are soon to have baptism dates we hope.
So I am doing great, the work moves on and I have such a sincere love for this work. I have never been so happy in my life than I am right now serving the Lord. I was reading in 3 Nephi 13 and verse 19-21 really caught my eye and I have been deeply reflecting on it all week. It talks about the treasures that we need to build up that will last for eternity. It teaches us that there are more important things in this life than those temporal worldly things. I have been thinking about it and families are one of those greatest blessings that has been ordained of God to last for eternity. I am so thankful to have been born in the convenant to a loving family who taught us the gospel while growing up. I want to thank you all for being such great examples to me and I want to tell you how much I love and appreciate all that you do for me. I love you all.
Elder J

This week was absolutely awesome! So I don’t remember if I told you in my last email but Elder Finau, my companion and I were at this wedding reception for these two people that were in our singles ward and they had a pig that they were serving that they roasted. Since Elder Finau is Tongan, he got put in charge of cutting up the pig. So at the end and when we were going home, they let us have the head of the pig. So we got home and we ate it. It was soooo good. I ate the brain and the eyes and it was good so I am getting a lot of weird food out here. And then during general conference on Sunday the Tongan ward invited us to have lunch with them and I don’t think I have ever eaten so much in my life. I had no idea what on earth I was eating but it was just mounded upon my plate. Tongan food is really bland and I realized how spoiled I have been with dads cooking!

This week has flown by. I was looking forward to conference every day this week and when it finally came I couldn’t even control my excitement! Saturday we went to Jonathans (that one investigator who is awesome) and watched it with him. He absolutely loved it and then we had lunch over there and taught him another lesson and then he committed to baptism! He is so ready and is so excited. So his date is the 10th. Haha – He told us he wants us to move faster with the lessons because he wants to be baptized as soon as possible. So that is really exciting. Then we stuck around and watched the afternoon session with him. Then priesthood session rolled around and it was absolutely amazing! On Sunday Elder Finau wanted to listen to it in Tongan so we went to the Tongan ward (I watched it in English though) like I said, we then got a feast of all feasts! Way bigger than any Thanksgiving I have ever had. And then more conference! I absolutely loved Elder Holland’s talk, along with everybody else! So powerful and bold. And I also liked the “ity” talk – I don’t remember who by though. So I am still all giddy from the spiritual overload of conference! It is crazy how conference was based totally off of love and service. I just loved those warm fuzzies of service. Earlier this week a members house burnt down so I was able to help clean up everything. It is crazy how a little toaster started such a big fire and that it could happen to anybody.  Also this week we went to the Visitor’s Center up at the temple with two investigators and they are soon to have baptism dates we hope.

So I am doing great, the work moves on and I have such a sincere love for this work. I have never been so happy in my life than I am right now serving the Lord. I was reading in 3 Nephi 13 and verse 19-21 really caught my eye and I have been deeply reflecting on it all week. It talks about the treasures that we need to build up that will last for eternity. It teaches us that there are more important things in this life than those temporal worldly things. I have been thinking about it and families are one of those greatest blessings that has been ordained of God to last for eternity. I am so thankful to have been born in the convenant to a loving family who taught us the gospel while growing up. I want to thank you all for being such great examples to me and I want to tell you how much I love and appreciate all that you do for me. I love you all.

Elder J

~ by Susan Johnson on October 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
