San Francisco is Total Culture Shock to Me!

 

(Oct. 28, 2009) Sorry you didn’t get any email on Monday – they changed our p-day to Wednesday just for this week because we got to go to the temple today! So it was my first time at the Oakland temple and it is incredible inside. I loved it! Wow the city here is totally a culture shock to me at first! It is so different and not even close to what I expected. We are walking everywhere and so the bus and track systems are always an adventure and you meet the craziest people. I am having a blast and my new companion, Elder Hintze is awesome. He has 2 months left and we are working hard. San Francisco has sooooo much potential and I’m so excited to be here. All the ward members are absolutely on fire with sharing the gospel and our ward mission leader couldn’t be any better. He is on top of everything and it helps the work so much! So my area isn’t like neighborhoody like I said in my last letter. Instead it is really hilly and little houses are stacked on top of each other and side by side! There are so many people here on the streets and it is crazy! It is absolutely beautiful though.
Just some fun stories so far is that my first day here we had to go into a “red area” which  out of the entire mission it is the biggest red area of all! The Castro District, which if you don’t know is the absolute heart of the gay community. We had to go in there because we had a referral and that’s the only reason why we have to go in there. So we were teaching Jim the barber in his little one room barber shop there and while we were teaching him a client came in for a haircut with his “companion”. Well we ended up teaching them as well and then they were very offended and lets just say it didn’t end up so good with them just getting mad at us for the whole prop 8 stuff. Oh well – it was one for the journals! As for Jim, he is totally interested and reading the Book of Mormon and progressing quite well. I could write forever about my experiences every day but I just don’t have enough time. Every day is just a whole new experience with crazy people out here!
Today for p-day I think we are going to go to Chinatown and do whatever a white person can do there… This work is so great. I am loving it and I have learned a lot out here. I am kind of a shy person and it is making me get out of my comfort zone and talk to people because there are so many people out here! I love you all and I wish you all the best this week. You are always in my prayers.
Love, Elder Johnson

 

 

~ by Susan Johnson on October 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
