I Have Built Such a Strong Testimony for the Power of Prayer & Fasting

The Beautiful Oakland Temple

(March 8, 2010)  Things are going pretty good. It was really good to hear from all of you this week. I don’t know what it was but I just loved reading all of your letters this week and I enjoyed hearing from all of you. It really put me in a good mood. HAPPY FREAKIN FRUITLOOP BIRTHDAY COLBY I hope it is filled with fun and excitement! That is pretty cool to hear that you are doing well in school and I look up to you a lot. Keep it up stud. Congrats on the volleyball tourney Riley. I bet you were enjoying the crossroads tournament hahaha. That will be fun with the Rock Canyon team. At least you won’t have to travel to Vista every day! And plus you will get all the girls because people will actually know you are good at volleyball from school.

As for me this week I am doing just ok. Kind of getting use to training a companion all over again. It is like night and day difference between Elder Reeves who I first trained and now Elder Ahohako. He is very good at English and teaching but it just isn’t the culture he is familiar with and especially here in San Fran with every kind of thing you can imagine. I have to explain everything like 100 times and in 100 different ways so that he understands it. It’s ok, though it is definitely teaching me a lot of patience. Sometimes I feel overwhelmed because of it though because it is like taking this whole area on by myself but it’s ok because I have built such a strong testimony for the power of prayer and fasting. As for the work it has definitely slowed down here. Investigators aren’t progressing like we planned for them to and our teaching dropped a lot but that’s why I’m learning so much about patience. That’s pretty much it… I just can’t believe that I have been here in this area for 20 weeks and it flies by. I have been doing good on my journal and that is where I hold all the really good juicy stories from every day of persecution and crazies on the bus and miracles we see. So you will have to wait till I get home to hear some good experiences.

That is everything for me. I hope all is going well back home and you all get better from your illnesses and that you stay strong. I love you all and wish you the best of luck in all areas of your life. This week I have been reflecting a lot of the Book of Mormon and the Bible, evidence between the two, and how well they work together. Let me just finish with my testimony that there is no way that the Book of Mormon could have been made by man but only through divine guidance from Heavenly Father. I know that it is the word of God and all readers of it will come to know the reality of the living Christ and how to improve the qualities of individuals, families, and society.
Love always, Elder Johnson

~ by Susan Johnson on March 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
