I Get a Hoot out of the “Crazies” Out Here

Yes - I'm Eating a Hogs Head!

(March 22, 2010) Hello family. Things are going pretty well with me here in San Francisco. Nothing really new to report on from this past week. From the previous week we had all of our investigators stop progressing and things really slowed down so this week we focused on mining our area book for former investigators and potentials. We spent all day everyday finding people and it proved to be very effective. For this upcoming week we already have pretty much every day planned out with set appointments and we are going to be working really hard this next week. This past week killed me though – it was so exhausting trying to find people and run around all day. It has been really hot too and two days I was confined to my bed because I was sick! I think I worked myself too hard and whenever I got on a bus I got motion sickness and I threw up a couple of times but the work still presses on here in San Francisco. Things with the companion are going ok. It is definitely different when training a foreigner compared to a hard driven Utah native….. but good thing is that I know this area very well so we don’t get lost and I know pretty much everybody. I even know all the locals which people talk to me on buses. There are a lot of crazies here. There is the “fruit lady” who every day she throws out 3 oranges in the street and watches cars run them over and laughs. Oh man I get a hoot out of her. And then there is this one guy that goes to the train station and plays a red violin with only 2 strings and he dances and it sounds awful but every day he is there doing his thing! He is my hero. The city is crazy.

That is pretty much all that happened this week. I hope all is well for you guys back home. I love you all and wish you the best of luck for the upcoming week.

Love, Elder Johnson.

~ by Susan Johnson on March 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
