After my Overwhelming Week — I’m Still Alive and Kickin’

(May 17, 2010) It’s good to hear from all of you. I love you all so much and I love hearing from you. Sounds like Riley is the man with volleyball. Good luck with all the practices and upcoming tournaments. I hope club treats you well and you just have fun with it. For this week I have quit the adventurous stories for you all! I think you would actually have to live it to experience the full effect but let me just tell you this past week has been the hardest for me! Well Tuesday things were all great and then we got a call from President and my companion Elder Ross got called to be the new assistant to president, and that he would be leaving asap…. so that left me as a single zone leader for a week and it was total chaos. I actually just went in a threesome companionship with my roommates who cover one ward but we had to balance all 3 wards and the scheduling issues were out of control. On top of it all I found out last minute that I needed to do stake numbers and have a report ready for a meeting with the Stake President and President Wade. So things were a bit crazy for me. On top of all that we were running back and forth helping all of our investigators to progress and it was just a bit overwhelming. But it’s ok because I’m still alive and kickin. I found out my new companion and his name is Elder Canova!!!!!! He was my Zone Leader when I was in San Francisco and I love him! We are best friends and going to tear it up! So I’ll get him on Tuesday. Also this past week in the midst of all the chaos, Heavenly Father performed miracles and blessed my areas. We got a baptismal date in the family ward which is the first one it has seen in 10 months. Then we got another date for the singles ward with this really cool guy named Dan who is so ready! Also we are working with this less active guy in the singles ward who has totally gotten involved in hard drugs and is just a mess and he came out to church for the first time in a long time and it was amazing! I learned so much this past week and what I really have been thinking about a lot is the power of prayer for individuals. Read 2 Nephi 33 and see what Nephi did for his investigators. So that was pretty much the week for me.

Life goes on and this week is packed with teaching. I love this area so much and love being a missionary! One really cool thing I’m doing this week is my companion and I are teaching at a catholic high school for a religion class. It will be fun. I did it last week for one of the teachers classes and she wants us to come back but it’s fun because the kids do a report on the church and that takes 15 minutes and then we are special guests and they turn the time over to us and we teach the restoration and then they ask us questions and the first time was really fun so this upcoming week we are scheduled to do it twice…  That’s about it for me. I hope you all are well and lovin life. You are always in my prayers and I love you.

Elder Johnson

~ by Susan Johnson on May 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
