All my Manners that I have ever Learned in my Life Went out the Window!

(Nov. 8, 2010) What’s up family! Good to hear from you mom and all the fun adventures that went on. And no I didn’t know about dad’s knee surgery. That is good that he got it taken care of. Sounds like you had fun teaching the young women mom and are doing great with your calling. Keep it up. So the weather is changing? That is awesome!! Tell Riley to email me and tell me all about snowboarding? And also he needs to send me some pics asap!

So it has been a week in my new area and it has been one of the coolest experiences of my life!!! I have no idea what is going on since everything is in Tongan but I am learning! It is intense — I have been sheltered my whole life I have decided. And seeing the life in Oakland has been a bit of a culture shock. I walk into homes and it is a very humbling experience for me and I am learning a lot about what it means to be thankful for what I have now. The Tongan people have been so nice to me and they truly know how to show love and respect – I can learn a lot from them. We have some fantastic investigators and there was a baptism here this weekend. Her name is Enisula and she has such a strong testimony of the gospel. Her baptismal program was amazing and I didn’t know what they were saying but they know how to bare powerful testimonies. On Sunday after she got confirmed, they had a feast and oh man!!!!!!!!! They know how to feast! I was blown away and your all going to be really mad at me but I didn’t have my camera so I didn’t get to get pictures but let me explain to you guys all the food! There was a table about 20 feet long and then two tables at the end like a T shape. And then they had 10 pigs total cooked and just laying on the tables and then there was absolutely no room on the table because they had so much food!!! Just everything and it was intense. There were 4 people to a pig and all my manners that I have ever learned in my life went out the window! It was awesome and we just dug into the pigs with our fingers and it was so good. I barely made  a dent in it though compared so some of these people. My mind is still blown away at how much food there was and it just kept coming and they brought more and more out and I was going to die but it was fun. These people have to be breaking the word of wisdom with how much they eat! I’m going to get fat here and I don’t even care!

Sunday was a great day because we have an English investigator and we were able to set a baptismal date with two of them for the 27th. My Tongan isn’t very good but I can catch a few words here and there. Luckily most of the members can speak English but it’s still difficult to understand what people will be talking about because they prefer to talk in Tongan. I’ll get it though. My new companion is great we get along and have fun. I love you all and hope you will write me back. Say hi to everybody for me. Love you bye, Elder BJ

 

 

~ by Susan Johnson on November 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
