Three Successful Baptisms this Week

(Nov. 29, 2010) This past week has been very good. Of course we had our big feast on Thanksgiving. Sounds like all of you had a great time and were able to get a lot accomplished. I’m saddened to hear about the passing of grandpa. Let me know how the funeral goes. John and Annnette’s home must have been packed on Thanksgiving with that many people. That is crazy! But I bet it was way fun right? I missed mom’s slush drink and the cranberry salad… but here I got fed much much much more! It was very weird on Thanksgiving actually. A very different day as a missionary and it is difficult because all you can do really is go visit members but all of them are eating and with family and if we go to the members than they just give us food…… so it was a bit slower of a day. Our actual meal part was pretty good. I didn’t overeat but there was plenty of food to go around. I felt out of place actually and it was kind of awkward all of dinner because it is tradition to let the guests eat first and have everybody else wait until the guests are done (so we had to eat before everybody while all the kids and family waited on us…) Really weird and I’m not used to it. I’m used to a big family gathering and everybody eats together. So that was a new experience. It was kind of awkward because other than them waiting on us to eat they only spoke in Tongan so I was just quite the whole time. And if I made eye contact with any of them they would say “kai” (eat) and then grab some food and throw it on my plate So I learned quickly to just keep my head down and not make eye contact! haha but it was really good food! It has been absolutely freezing here. Not too bad but only because I don’t have that good of clothing like leather shoes are freezing and only some slacks don’t cut it for keeping my legs warm… but other than that the work is going great.

This past Saturday we baptized two girls in our ward. My first week we got here we found them and set dates with both of them. They progressed really fast and so we baptized them. They are happy and the service went very smoothly. Also I went back to my last area for a baptism of a guy that I was teaching and had set a date with before I had left and so that was last night and things went very well with that one as well. So the work just keeps going on and we are always trying to find more people. Stay safe and be careful in the snow. Hope all of you continue to have a good break and vacation in Utah. I love you all!

Brady

 

 

~ by Susan Johnson on December 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
