I Stay Here in Oakland for my Last 6 Weeks!

(April 19, 2011) Thanks for your letter mom, I’m happy that you are doing well and it was good to hear about your experience teaching! I love to teach it is one of my favorite things! I think I like it the most because in all the preparation that goes into it the one that teaches gets the most out of it. And I have lived with you mom for 20 years and I know that you are an amazing teacher from your example and how you live the gospel. You have taught me a lot even though you may not know your teaching me. This past week was amazing! Things went off perfect with the two baptisms of Nafetalai ‘Aholelei and ‘Amanaki Tafengatoto. They are amazing and Nafe is my favorite convert ever!!!! Even though I don’t teach him because he is 60 years old and can’t speak a lick of English, I have come to grow and love this man. He has changed so much and I haven’t told you much about him but just know that he is a miracle and I have been privileged to teach this man. I won’t go into too much details, but at one point about 2 months ago we had to stop teaching him because he chased us away with an axe when he was in a drunken rage… haha don’t worry mom I’m ok and from that point we stopped teaching him but then recently he moved into a members home and completely gave up everything to change and come unto Christ. He gave up a 50 year smoking addiction (he’s only 60 so he started when he was 10) and he is a warrior! I will tell you more when I get home or maybe when I call on Mother’s Day (best holiday ever). Also this next week we have another baptism that we are preparing for so that should go well. We once again ran out of people to teach though and we are trying to get our teaching pool filled again…. I can’t believe this is my last transfer. time is flying by and I’m not ready to go home. I love it too much out here even though its hard at times. I have learned so much and I wouldn’t trade a single experience for anything.

As for my last area………………. haha get ready for this one… I’m staying here in Oakland- still in the Tongan program – still as zone leader and to top all of that my new companion is the one and only Elder Ahohako!!!!! haha the one that I trained over a year ago! haha so now we are back together and we are going to have a blast it will be fun. At first I was scared because the ward loves Elder Kalamafoni and I hate to lose him. But I have 6 weeks left to still work and I’m going to give it all I got and Elder Ahohako is willing to work hard. It is going to be crazy. Elder Kalamafoni and I were together for 6 months!!! crazy huh? I’m going to miss him a lot but he went to be Zone Leader for the Tongan zone in San Francisco because they need help…..  so I hope you all continue to pray for me because this may be a long “lepa” 6 weeks but it will make going home that much better! So I got the good news of BYU accepting me! I’m so excited and I have been working so hard to be in shape. I look forward to trying to play there but I understand it will take a lot of work. But I’m willing and ready to do it. I love you all and hope you have a great week. It’s good to hear trigger is still alive and kind of kickin. Love you. ofa atu. nofa a e

Elder J

~ by Susan Johnson on April 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
